Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Horns Discuss Leadpipe Crud in the Equipment forums; Greetings to all, I’ve been playing on my Yamaha Xeno Bb for about four years now. The last two times ...
    Pianissimo User

Leadpipe Crud

Greetings to all,

I’ve been playing on my Yamaha Xeno Bb for about four years now. The last two times I’ve cleaned out the horn (within the last two months) I’ve noticed that there is crud in the leadpipe that won’t wash out, even if I let the horn soak for a long time. It’s about time for me to take the horn in for a chemical cleaning, and I was wondering if anyone had advice on what to have the shop do about the leadpipe. A member of a brass quintet I’m in – and a repair technician – told me that a repair person would probably use a brush with something abrasive on it (like steel wool) to grind the stuff off. He said that corrosion like this is the beginning of red rot. Could abrading the inside of the leadpipe mess with the sound quality of the instrument? Would it be better for me just to request that they put on a new leadpipe? I apologize if this is an overly basic question, but I’ve never had a problem with corrosion like this before.

Many thanks in advance for your responses,

Andy
    Bb: Bach 37
    C:Yamaha 6445H

Re: Leadpipe Crud

I would first try scrubbing it for 15-20 minutes with a new brush and some strong liquid hand soap/degreaser, the kind that feels gritty in your hands. You can get this stuff in an orange bottle in most auto supply stores.

If that doesn't work then have a NAPBIRT certified tech clean it out.

Greg
    Stop acting like someone shot your dog.

A chemical cleaning can probably remove what you see without too much "mechanical" work. Your repair tech will tell you if the leadpipe is on its last leg. If that is the case, the tuning slide should also be checked out with a mirror or video camera.