Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Horns Discuss Looking to buy my first trumpet in the Equipment forums; Hello all! (Yes, I read the affordable trumpet thread and looked around elsewhere on the internet before coming here) I ...
    New Friend

Looking to buy my first trumpet

Hello all!

(Yes, I read the affordable trumpet thread and looked around elsewhere on the internet before coming here)

I have been playing trumpet for about 3 months now on a rental Yamaha YTR2335 that has been serving me very well but I LOVE trumpet and I would like a trumpet that I can call my own, so for my birthday my parents have agreed to purchase one for me (yay!).

I just wanted to know what your guys recommendations were for a first student horn.

and if it helps, I will be playing the trumpet in band, marching band, and in a small jazz group. I take the trumpet very seriously and I am working hard so I would like it to be a horn that I will be able to have for a while and I won't soon outgrow. It doesn't matter whether it's used or new, and price isn't really an issue (nothing too ridiculous though...)

Thanks!
    Last edited by NeonMarmot; 09-25-2010 at 08:38 PM.

Pianissimo User

Re: Looking to buy my first trumpet

Try the Kanstul Model 700
    Kanstul Powerbore soprano bugle

Pianissimo User

The Yamaha 2335 is great, but take a look at the 4335 if you can. It is a BIG step up in quality with a small price difference.
    Ric
    Comeback Player

Yamaha Xeno 8335S Bb Trumpet
    Yamaha Chicago 9445CHS C Trumpet
    1983 Mercedes II Bb Trumpet
    Curry 3M, 3C.
    Bach 3C
    Yamaha 14C4, 14B4, 16C4-GP

Hey NeonMarmot, welcome to the forum!!

You didn't mention the price range that your parents would like to stay within. That in itself will be a major determining factor in what you end up with.