Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Horns Discuss New member here. Bach Strad. Help me be fair. in the Equipment forums; Hi: I'm a new member to the forums. I haven't really played the trumpet in almost 40 years, but for ...
    New Friend

New member here. Bach Strad. Help me be fair.

Hi:

I'm a new member to the forums. I haven't really played the trumpet in almost 40 years, but for a couple of brief, shining years I went from an absolute beginner to a pretty good player. I had played piano from basically infancy, and my dad let me use piano scholarship money to buy a trumpet.

I started trumpet in the 9th grade. I made All State in the 10th grade, and then I put it down. While I had my reasons, which involved an involuntary change of schools, I regret it to this day. I don't know how good I could have been. But that's not what this post is about.

I still own my trumpet. It's a Bach Strad. Model 37. ML bore. Lacquered brass finish, silver around the valve casing, etc. The valve casing says "Mt Vernon." The bell says "Elkart." So this is a 1960s horn, and kind of a transitional one.

Here's the deal. A young fellow from my daughter's school has been playing my trumpet for over two years. He loves the trumpet, and he's taken really good care of the horn. It has a couple of ancient little dents on the bell; otherwise it's fine. The lacquer is obviously spotted.

This kid loves music. Made All State last year (10th grade; sounds familiar). His school-teacher mom raised him and his siblings basically alone. She recently remarried, but I don't think the bucks are just flowing. While I would love to play again, I have a respiratory problem that would make that a complete impossibility.

Question: Any idea what my trumpet is worth? I'm not poor, but I just don't want to give it to him. I would like to come up with a fair value and let him pay/earn it from me.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

mwh
    New Friend

Re: New member here. Bach Strad. Help me be fair.