Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes
Horns Discuss New Trumpet in the Equipment forums; So I've been playing on an intermediate level horn for about 3 years now (this is my 7th year playing) ...

New Trumpet

So I've been playing on an intermediate level horn for about 3 years now (this is my 7th year playing) and now that I'm playing in college, its been suggested to me that I look into getting some professional equipment (an idea which I have no problem with).

On that note, in about a year I'm looking to find a new Bb. I've already had a few suggestions from my teacher and peers, but I also know that all but a few are concentrating on classical style music, and I personally play a large quantity of jazz in addition to classical.

I know that the best thing I can do is try out horns, but I want to see what the general consensus is regarding my wants, so I'm not trial-and-erroring so many different trumpets.

That being said, I'm looking for a horn with a somewhat darker sound (but it doesn't have to be the darkest), probably ML-L bore range (I've tried a few smaller bores, not a huge fan, but hey, I could be surprised). I'd like a trumpet with a tone that can fit all styles, light and fluffy at times, broad and dark at others, or straight away peeling the paint if need be. I know much of this comes from the player as well, but the horn can not be disregarded completely, as far as efficiency is concerned. The full range of the trumpet is in concern here, low Gb to High G (above high C), if not higher.

Ones I know I will potentially look at are:
    Yamaha Xeno, and potentially among some more specialized
    Bach Stradivarius
    Conn Constellation (both 36B and 38B)

I have no particular favoritism for brands, I'll play a good Getzen or Schilke, too. These models just pop out off the top of my head.

All suggestions are welcome! I know that most of you have played many, many more horns than me, so feel free to post!
    Mark Kindy - University of Florida