Horns Discuss olds ambassador cornet in the Equipment forums; Hey, I was thinking of buying an olds ambassador cornet on ebay. I've heard that some cornets sound mellow and ...
    Pianissimo User

olds ambassador cornet

Hey, I was thinking of buying an olds ambassador cornet on ebay. I've heard that some cornets sound mellow and some sound like a trumpet. Does any one know how this cornet sounds. I would try it but most music shops in my area do not sell this type of cornet.

Piano User

Re: olds ambassador cornet

Hi,

I have an LA Ambassador cornet. I use a Curry 3DC with it and I get a less edgy or trumpety sound. The early LA Ambassadors used a lager shank mouthpiece and if you want to try different mouthpieces with it you will run into some mouthpiece/receiver fit challenges. The valves are super and the sound is quite good for concert band or dixieland; not so much for brass band though.

Cheers,

Brian
    "Swift Current - where we're neither swift nor current"

New Friend

I use my Olds Ambassador Cornet (Fullerton made) for Dixieland and all gigs except where my trumpet is required. Need to use the 3rd valve slide for our low D and C sharp, but it's just a good, all around horn. To me it just feels good to play jazz with it.
    TOM

Bach Strad LT180S-37
    Yamaha YCR 6330S
    Olds Ambassador Cornet- Fullerton

"I can teach you everything, Sonny, except how to ask for money." - LOUIS MAGGIO

Quote Originally Posted by mlrenick View Post
    Hey, I was thinking of buying an olds ambassador cornet on ebay. I've heard that some cornets sound mellow and some sound like a trumpet. Does any one know how this cornet sounds. I would try it but most music shops in my area do not sell this type of cornet.