Horns Discuss Plenty of Experience in Music, None in Trumpets : Turning to the Experts in the Equipment forums; Hello guys, I have been playing music for the last six years, seriously for two. I played baritone in 7th ...
    New Friend

Question Plenty of Experience in Music, None in Trumpets : Turning to the Experts

Hello guys,

I have been playing music for the last six years, seriously for two. I played baritone in 7th & 8th grade, french horn in 9th & 10th grade (didn't go so well) took to the tuba like a fish to water in 11th & 12th grade and taught myself some trombone in that period too. I found myself loving and playing the tuba daily and becoming a real musician. Now, I realize that I can't live without music. Much to my dismay, but hardly to my surprise, I realized that I cannot afford my own tuba. This is why I am turning to the trumpet and to you.

As a first year university student (not music, political science, in case you where wondering), I don't really have much of a budget to spend on an instrument. I know a fair bit about tubas, but since I don't recall as much as ever blowing in a friends trumpet, I cannot say as much about it. I need (or think I do) an upper-intermediate to pro level horn. I am basing this on the speed of my tuba progress and the fact that I am acquainted to all aspects of brass playing: I listen to classical music every day, I should be able to create a good buzz and tell if the instrument is out of tune.

I was wondering, with all the options available to me, what used horn should I look for (I was thinking rotary for whatever reason) and how much I should set aside (please say 600-800$... ).

I think that is all for now, it's probably better that you ask questions if you need to, to receive pertinent information. Thank you for your time.

Pianissimo User

Re: Plenty of Experience in Music, None in Trumpets : Turning to the Experts

600-800 you wont be getting out that easily mhuuhahahahahahahahaha