Vintage Trumpets / Cornets Discuss HOLTON MODEL 25 cornet in the Equipment forums; I learned to play cornet on a CONN Director when I was 9 years ole and I've been a loyal ...
    New Friend

HOLTON MODEL 25 cornet

I learned to play cornet on a CONN Director when I was 9 years ole and I've been a loyal CONN artist ever since. But, I'm in the process of trying to acquire a Holton Model 25 cornet. It's got 3 spit valves like the CONN 26A, which I've been trying to acquire, but keep getting outbid. Anyway, I've been doing my homework and found that the Model 25 used to be made for the military bands. Since the military has exacting standards, or at least they used to, I was wondering if anyone could tell me how the Model 25 should be classified. Is this a pro type horn, or should it be considered an intermediate horn. Has anyone played this cornet and what do you think of it?

Thanks, GARRY

Re: HOLTON MODEL 25 cornet