Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Introductions and Greetings Discuss Hi from Montana in the The Green Room - Non Trumpet Related Topics! forums; Hey everyone, Just thought I would introduce myself and hopefully get some discussion on different types of trumpets and what ...
    New Friend

Hi from Montana

Hey everyone,
    Just thought I would introduce myself and hopefully get some discussion on different types of trumpets and what to look for when buying my first one.

I am 24 years old. I play guitar and used to play clarinet in highschool. I also sing in a band and would like to take up the trumpet so that I could eventually play it in my band.

I have never even attempted to play the trumpet but always enjoyed the sound. I am trying to find a used trumpet as we speak and hopefully can find a good deal on a decent one soon so that I can get started.

Any advice for a complete newbie is very much appreciated.

Kadin

Re: Hi from Montana

Welcome Kadin.

What is your price range for the trumpet you're looking to purchase?

New Friend

Quote Originally Posted by TrumpetMD View Post
    Welcome Kadin.

What is your price range for the trumpet you're looking to purchase?
    Hi,
    Well, i don't think I want to spend much more than $250... hopefully I can find something used that is decent for that price.

Look on Craig's list for local, that way you can check the horn out before you buy.
    (Above/left) Alexanders ragtime band-circa 1960

Chalmers Big and Tall midwest sales district credit card division

“ I was gratified to be able to answer promptly, and I did. I said I didn't know. ”
    — Mark Twain
    "Strive to have enemies that define you"

New Friend

Quote Originally Posted by A.N.A. Mendez View Post
    Look on Craig's list for local, that way you can check the horn out before you buy.
    That is a good suggestion. I wish I were in a bigger town so I had more options....